Skip to main content

The Heritage Committee reported that one of the recipients of funding from the BCRTA has won an award!

The Prince George Retired Teachers Association’s Heritage Committee won the Jeanne Clarke Award for Local History for their work “Historical Memories: People, Places, Programs and Services”.  The Jeanne Clarke Memorial local history award is awarded by the Prince George Public Library Board in memory of Jeanne Clarke, a former library board chair who helped establish the Prince George Public Library’s local history collection.

The award went to the Prince George Retired Teachers’ Association for their work on a four-part series which features all 138 former and present School District 57 schools.  The work included the schools’ history, including programs, activities and enrollment numbers, staff lists, photos of students, teachers and buildings, and shared memories submitted by former staff and students.  Tiiu Noukas, co-chair of the Heritage Committee for the Prince George Retired Teachers’ Association was featured on the front page of the Prince George Citizen newspaper on February 20 2018, as she posed with the award and a copy of Historical Memories.  Noukas co-edited the book with Kris Nellis, who is a co-chair of the Heritage Committee for the PGRTA. Funding was given by the BCRTA Heritage Committee.

Interested in a Heritage Grant?

The Heritage Committee also reminds the branches that applications for Heritage grants are due by May 1st, with information available from the website at


From left to right: Lynne, Louisa, Janice, Diane, Barb and Cheryl