Skip to main content

BCRTA Pension Advocacy Activity Regarding Bill C27

Contacts Made to January 23, 2018

  1. MP Cathy McLeod, Con. Kamloops—Thompson—Cariboo: visit by 10 retired teachers + one letter
  2. MP Joyce Murray, Lib. Vancouver Quadra: 1 letter
  3. MP Fin Donnelly, NDP, Port Moody – Coquitlam: 4 contacts — 1 letter, 2 emails + 1 “contact”
  4. PM Justin Trudeau, PM, Lib. MP for Papineau: 6 letters and 1 email
  5. MP Ron McKinnon, Lib. Coquitlam –Port Coquitlam: 1 email
  6. MP Finance Minister Morneau, Lib. Toronto Centre: 10 letters and one face-to-face encounter
  7. MP Nathan Cullen, NDP. Skeena—Bulkley Valley: 2 emails and a letter, one letter contained 34 signatures; RTA met MP Cullen at an Open House.
  8. MP Elizabeth May, Green. Saanich—Gulf Islands: 6 letters and 1 email,
  9. MP Todd Doherty, Con. Cariboo–Prince George: 12 contacts: 9 “messages” and 4 letters
  10. MP Alistair McGregor, NDP. Cowichan — Malahat — Langford: 2 letters
  11. MP Andrew Scheer, Con. Leader of the Opp, MP for Regina—Qu’Appelle: 1 letter, 1 email
  12. MP Peter Julian, NDP. New Westminster, Burnaby: 3 letters
  13. MP Ken Hardie, Lib. Fleetwood –Port Kells: 1 email
  14. MP Jenny Kwan, NDP. Vancouver – Mt. Pleasant: 1 letter sent by email
  15. MP Don Albas, Con. Central Okanagan — Similkameen — Nicola: 1 long visit + a letter
  16. MP Kennedy Stewart, NDP. Burnaby South: 1 letter
  17. MP Tom Mulcair, NDP. Outremont: 1 letter + 1 email
  18. MP Mel Arnold, Con. North Okanagan- Shuswap: 2 visits, one involving several people
  19. MP Stephen Fuhr, Lib. Kelowna – Lake Country: 1 visit and 1 letter
  20. MP Jane Philpott, Lib. Markham – Stouffville: 2 letters
  21. MP Scott Brison. Lib. Kings-Hants, President of the Treasury Board: 1 letter
  22. MP Diane Watts: Presently Lib leadership candidate BC: 1 letter
  23. MP Carla Qualtrough. Lib. Delta: 1 call – several other calls had been received
  24. MP Patty Hajdu, Lib. Min. of Employ’t, Work Force Dev, Labour: Thunder Bay-Superior: 1 letter
  25. MP Sheila Malcolmson, NDP. Nanaimo Ladysmith: 4 emails + 1 letter
  26. MP Murray Rankin, NDP.Victoria: 2 letters
  27. MP Rachel Blaney, NDP. North Island –Powell River: 3 emails
  28. MP Gord Johns, NDP. Courtenay—Alberni: 4 written contacts
  29. Robyn Benson, National President Public Service Alliance of Canada: 1 email
  30. Wayne Stetski, NDP. Kootenay—Columbia: 2 contacts
  31. Richard Cannings, NDP. South Okanagan — West Kootenay: 2 contacts and several others
  32. Pamela Goldsmith, Lib. West Vancouver-Sunshine Coast- Sea to Sky Country. Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of International Trade: 3 phone calls and 1 email.
  33. Dan Ruimy, Lib. Pitt Meadows — Maple Ridge: 1 contact (email)
  34. Gordie Hogg, Lib. South Surrey — White Rock: 1 contact (call) + email
  35. Ed Fast, Con. Abbotsford: 1 letter — reply received
  36. MLA Judy Darcy, New Westminster: 1 letter
  37. MLA Claire Trevina, Campbell River: 1 letter
  38. MLA Michelle Stillwell, Parksville—Qualicum: 1 letter


Approximately 110 BCRTA members have engaged in the Bill C27 Advocacy, most writing, calling, or visiting directly, others advocating in groups either visiting MPs or signing onto a common letter. In some cases, such as in the Wine Country Branch, estimates were made for this analysis when it was reported that “several members had contacted the ‘riding’ MP.” Contacts have been made with 34 MPs – including the Prime Minister and Finance Minister — and 3 MLAs.

Some contacts (4) were made by people other than BCRTA members; they asked that their action be noted in our file.

The following BC MPs, to our knowledge, have had no contact at all:

John Aldag, Lib. Cloverdale – Langley City
Randeep Sarai. Lib. Surrey Centre
Sukh Dhaliwal, Lib. Surrey – Newton
Hedy Fry, Lib. Vancouver Centre
Jody Wilson-Raybould, Lib. Vancouver-Granville
Don Davies. NDP. Vancouver- Kingsway
Harjit Sajjan, Lib. Vancouver South
Jati Sidhu. Lib. Mission – Matsqui – Fraser Canyon
Terry Beech. Lib. Burnaby North – Seymour
Mark Strahl, Con. Chilliwack –Hope
Mark Warawa, Con. Langley – Aldergrove
Jonathan Wilkinson, Lib. North Vancouver
Bob Zimmer, Con. Prince George – Peace River –Northern Rockies
Alice Wong. Con. Richmond Centre
Joe Peschisolido, Lib. Steveston –Richmond East
Garrison Randall, NDP. Esquimalt – Saanich – Sooke